August Block-A-Month

Cow Parsley 12″  Box Fan 6″ and Tropical Delight 12″

August in October that’s how far behind I am in the 2015 Block-A-Month crochet-a-long (CAL) and that has a lot to do with the colors I chose for these blocks. I was thinking Goth, you know dark and bloody vampire’ish for the two 12″ blocks.

Cow Parsley 12

Cow Parsley 12 612 FramedThe first block is Cow Parsley. Now I’m going to say up front I love this block, it’s a gorgeous lacy block, and I really didn’t know whether I wanted to ruin it by using the colors I had chosen, I mean I could see this square crocheted in an antique white with a rose background or something along those lines. As you can see I decided to ruin it with black a pinch of white and burgundy. When I put this up on the crochet-a-longs Ravelry site I wasn’t sure what kind of response I would get. To my surprise all of the responses on this block have been awesome, some of my CAL mates think it favors a poppy and ya know….. it does! Another wonderful surprise is that the Designer Lettice Rose asked if she could show case this block along with other blocks from talented Ravelers on her Ravelry Cow Parsley page. WOW! EXCITED! SO COOL! Of course I said yes. Ya know, I don’t have a problem being wrong about this square 😀 .

Box Fan 6 612 Framed 2

 

Box Fan is next. I went with the normal chocolate that I have used on all of the 6″ squares so far in this CAL and now I am out of that color. I will have to figure out another color that goes well with chocolate-brown for the rest of the CAL. With that said this is a unique little square the way the stitches simulate the movement of a box fan. This was a fun square to crochet.

Tropical Delight 12 612 FramedTropical Delight, well I guess this goes without saying that my color choice was anything but tropical, I like how this square turned out. There is a story behind this square and there were people who really went out of their way to bring this pattern to us. One of those folks was Mellie of mellie blossom website who actually rewrote this pattern because a lot of people liked it and wanted to make it, but couldn’t find the pattern. Well,  it was out of print, the story of what she went through to get this pattern to us is on her web site.  Also what was very helpful was a picture tutorial that Laurel of Laurel’s Place created to go with this pattern, in my opinion it was invaluable.  I sincerely thank both of these women for the time and effort they put in to making this pattern more accessible to us, so that we could all crochet this beautiful square.

Until Next Time,

Keep On Hook’n

 

Credits:

Cow Parsley,  Box Fan and Tropical Delight: Hand Crocheted by Artisan Patricia Geraghty-Gaddis

Thank you to all of the Designers and fellow Ravelers that helped in the creation of these beautiful squares.

Cow Parsley: Lettice Rose

Box Fan: Donna Kay Lacey

Tropical Delight: Susan Stevens –Pattern Rewrite: Mellie of mellie blossom — Picture Tutorial: Laurel of Laurel’s Place

 

4 thoughts on “August Block-A-Month”

    1. Yes, I followed up on that and no one I talked with knows what happened. I decided to link to the Designer Donna’s Ravelry page just in-case she comes back online. Unfortunately for now, the pattern is not available due to copyright.

      Like

    1. Thank you Carly, There are new crocheters that are learning while crocheting their first afgan using the Block-A-Month crochet-a-long on Ravelry to learn the different stitches. Although I do have to say they deffinitly jump in with both feet! 🙂 They happen to be signing folks up now for the 2016 CAL. I think Ravelry is a great place to start because there are alot of folks that can help and there are different groups you can hook up with from there, for beginning thru advanced crocheters, possibly in your area and of course online. Also yarn stores will often offer classes for beginning crochet.
      It’s nice to meet you, Keep on Hook’n

      Like

I love reading your comments!

