May Block-A-Month

4033 Crochet Square 12″,   Kiss2 12″,  and   Pinwheels Afghan 6″

My Pico 12in 612 framed
4033 Crochet Square

First up is the 4033 Crochet Square which is a MyPicot pattern. I am on MyPicot’s mailing list for their patterns and I get a pattern a week.  Sometimes I will get a pattern for a square and sometimes it is a crochet pattern for a stitch, an edging or a motif. I love the idea that they offer a diagram and step instructions for their patterns, It makes it easier for folks like me who want to learn to read diagrams. There are so many beautiful crochet works from other countries, the idea of being able to share patterns thru the universal language of the diagram appeals to me, I think it is awesome!! This square was nominated as the 12″ filler square in the 2015 Block-A-Month Crochet-A-Long I didn’t know that MyPicot had a Ravelry page until this square!

Kiss 2 12in 612 framed
Kiss2

Kiss2 designed by Sadie Cumings, I love, love, love this block! I did take some artistic liberties with it though, I changed the pattern. So what I’m going to attempt here is to tell you what I did when I went rogue 😀 .

I used a G/4.00mm Hook, the first 4 rows were supposed to be 3.5 inches and mine where 4.5 inches, I liked the idea of the center being bigger so I stayed with it knowing that I would have to omit a couple of rows somewhere down the line.  When I got to row 7 I got really confused with the directions and had to tear it out and start over a couple of times before I figured it out and went on to crochet rows 8,9 and 10 as directed.

  1. Omit row 11 in original pattern.
  2. Count all stitches in row 10 and divide by 4 (there should be 90 sts total ÷ 4 comes out to 22.5) I have 2 sts extra I can either increase or decrease 2 sts on 2 sides of the square, I increased to 24 Stitches per side. We are now going to turn our circle into a square. Please read all directions before starting.
  3. ROW 11 This whole row is crocheted around the BP (backpost) of row 10 except for corners: Attach yarn in any stitch,   Ch 4, 1 TR in same st, (ch4 makes a TR),  ∗ [BPtr around next 2 sts,  BPdc around next 2 sts, BPhdc around next st, BPsc around next 12 sts,  BPhdc around next st,  BPdc around next 2 sts, BPtr around next 2 sts, 2TR in next st, ch2, 2TR in next st, ( one corner made)]∗ 3 more times, 2TR in last st ch2 attach to top of ch4, last corner made.     This is a little tricky: as you crochet along the circle of row 10 you will come across ch sps above the popcorns sts of row 9, replace whatever stitch goes in that spot with a ch st, and then go on to the next st.   EXAMPLE: 2TR in next st, BPtr around next st, ch1, BPdc around next 2st ect…….. so the ch stitch replaces whatever the BP stitch is supposed to be.  Note: You will want to count your stitches to make sure you have the same number on all four sides.
  4. ROW 12 In ch2 sp, ch 3, 1dc, ch2, 2dc (first corner made)∗ [1hdc in next st, 1sc in every stitch across 1hdc in last st before corner, 2dc, ch2, 2dc in ch2 sp]∗ 3 times, attach to top of ch3.
  5. I followed the original pattern for rows 13-16 and omited row 17.

Wheew! I’ll tell ya, my hats off to pattern writers. I do want to ask one thing, if you decide to make this square and make the changes that I did could you let me know how these directions worked for you? I am curious to know if they work!

Pinwheels 6in 612 framed
Pinwheels Afghan

And here we are Pinwheels Afghan 6″ block designed by Kim Guzman, I really enjoyed crocheting this little square, I think it is cute! I don’t know what it is about this chocolate colored yarn it’s going to be very hard to get away from it, I tried on this one, but as you can see it didn’t work.

Until next time,

Keep On Hook’n!

Credits:

4033 Crochet Square, Kiss2 and Pinwheels Afghan: Hand Crocheted by Artisan Patricia Geraghty-Gaddis

Here is a big Thank You to the Designers

4033 Crochet Square: MyPicot

Kiss2: Sadie Cumings

Pinwheels Afghan: Kim Guzman

I love reading your comments!

