April Block-A-Month

Sun Catcher 12″,  SmoothFox’s May Flower 6″  and  Romantique 12″

Sun Catcher crop
Sun Catcher

I know, its July I am running a little late with the crochet along. I had a really hard time with my color theme on Sun Catcher I started crocheting it, ripped it out, set it down and didn’t come back for a few months. When I picked it back up it was with fresh eyes and so here it is. The pattern is well written although I found it to be a little confusing in spots. My advise if you want to crochet this block is to take it slow and easy reread the instructions, reread them again if you need to and you will do just fine.

SmoothFoxs May Flower crop
SmoothFox’s May Flower

SmoothFox’s May Flower, I love these small squares they are fun and quick to crochet.  I have been thinking about making some chocolate fudge cookies and using this as a pattern for the vanilla or cream cheese icing to decorate the top. What do you think, sounds good doesn’t it? Yummy!

Romantique crop
Romantique

The pattern for Romantique is very well written as a matter of fact I decided I would use this pattern to up my crochet skills. It is stated in the pattern that if you want you can substitute the bullion stitch for the triple and double crochets in the arms of the motif and I have never used that stitch so I decided to try it and I like it, the bullion stitch adds a different look to the square. By the way YouTube has some fantastic video’s on how to crochet the bullion stitch, just do a search for bullion stitch a number of different video’s come up. I also played with the color on this square more than I have in the past. With the Dark Thyme I started the design down by the motif (per the instructions) and then I measured three arm lengths  of yarn and cut the yarn for each of the four sides of the square and I worked off of that as I crocheted each row. That way I only had two ends to weave in for the design instead of two ends per row. Boy did that save some time! The other colors I used were crocheted in by the row, in other words I started and ended the color within the same row. O’ya this pattern is written for one color, I sure had a good time playing!

As a footnote not all of these patterns from the Block-A-Month Crochet-A-Long are free after the month of the CAL, for instance Romantique is now posted at $1.99 USD and Sun Catcher will not be free after December 31, 2015.  As a participant of the CAL the patterns are free to use. Other than that it is up to the designer of each pattern whether they stay free or not. The price stated above is as of this post I cannot promise that it will stay at that price.

Until I post again,

Keep hook’n!

Credits:

Sun Catcher, SmoothFox’s May Flower & Romantique:  Hand Crocheted by Artisan Patricia Geraghty-Gaddis

Here is a big Thank You to the Designers

Sun Catcher:  Julie Yeager

SmoothFox’s May Flower:  Donna Mason-Svara

Romantique:  Joyce Lewis

I love reading your comments!

