Crocheted Cotton Wash Cloths and Scrubbies

This is kind of a first for me because the round scrubbies are from a pattern of The Stitchin’ Mommy (which is easy, I’m telling you about my experience crocheting that pattern and…… I’ve done that before)!  The wash cloths I made from a book of different crochet stitches,  not only am I telling you about the stitches but I’m writing out a pattern as to how I used those stitches (which is not so easy). These are the first patterns I have ever written and  I’m not sure how this is going to come together, so……here it goes! Can you tell I’m nervous?

Easy Face Scurbbies 815-612This pattern is very easy to follow and fun to make. I used a sage and mustard cotton yarn that was given to me for two of these and I do not know the brand. For the third scrubbie I used Lily cotton Sugar’n Cream and Wine is the color, the hook I used was a G/4.00mm gauge. I want to give a big shout out to The Stitchin’ Mommy whose website this pattern came from, Thank you this is a great pattern!

Wash cloth Textured SC DC 10-10 816-612On this washcloth I used the Mustard Cotton given to me from a friend and a G/4.00mm Hook. I like the texture of the washcloth it was fun to make and didn’t take very long. I enjoy making these for myself and they are a one of a kind gift, I like to say that no two are alike!

To start off I —

chained 34 stitches, turn.

Row 1:  (1 single crochet, chain 2, 1 single crochet) in 4th chain from hook, *skip next chain, (1 single crochet, chain 2, 1 single crochet) in next chain* all the way across to within the last 2 stitches, skip next stitch and half double crochet in last chain, turn.

Row 2: Chain 2 (counts as a half double crochet) *(1 single crochet, chain 2, 1 single crochet) in next chain 2 space, repeat from * all the way across, 1 half double crochet in top of turn chain, turn.

Repeat row 2 for pattern

Last row: Chain 2, *(1 single crochet, chain 1, 1 single crochet) in next chain 2 space, chain 1* repeat all the way across, fasten off and sew the ends in.

I made all of my wash cloths to measure about ten x ten inches, keep in mind that my gauge seems to be a bit bigger than most so you may want to go with a bigger hook.

Wash cloth Petite Shells 10-10 816-612

On this washcloth I used a G/4.00 Hook and Lily cotton, Sugar’n Cream Wine is the color. I am not good at gauging how much yarn it takes to crochet items, but the Sugar’n Cream solids come in a 2.5oz/70.9g – 120yds/109m ball at least the ones I bought and I got one 10×10 washcloth and one face scrubbie out of one ball with a tiny bit left over for a scrap project.

This is how I made this pattern:

I Chained 36 stitches, turn

Row 1: Inserted hook into 4th chain from hook and made one single crochet 1 double crochet in next chain, 1 single crochet in next chain all the way to the end, turn.

Row 2: Chain 3 (counts as a double crochet), skip first stitch, 1 single crochet in next stitch, 1 double crochet in next stitch all the way to the end. You should end with a single crochet in the top of turning chain. Turn.

Repeat row 2 for pattern, when you have desired length fasten off and weave ends in.

Wash cloth Tiny Mock Popcorn 10-10 816-612This washcloth really has some texture, this is my favorite! One side of the washcloth is smooth while the other side is great for a little extra exfoliating action.

Chain 31, turn.

Row 1:  Place hook in second chain from hook, 1 single crochet in each chain across, turn.

Row 2: Chain 1, 1 single crochet in first single crochet chain 4 1 single crochet in each of next 4 single crochets repeat all the way across ending with chain 4 1 single crochet in last single crochet, turn.

Row 3: Chain 1, holding the chain 4 loops to the back of work (which should be the right side), 1 single crochet in every single crochet all the way to the end, turn.

Row 4: Chain 1, 1 single crochet in each of first 3 single crochets chain 4, 1 single crochet in next 4 single crochets repeat all the way across, 1 single crochet in last 3 single crochets, turn.

Row 5: Repeat row 3

Row 6: Repeat row 2

Row 7: Repeat row 3

Row 8: Repeat row 4

Row 9: Repeat row 3

Row 10: Repeat row 2-4 and so on until you have desired length.

Last Row: Single crochet in every stitch all the way across, finish off and sew in ends.

What you can do with these four crochet techniques are endless. You can mix and match techniques make Afghans, wash cloths, sweaters and more, the sky is the limit.

References:

Face Scrubbies:  http://thestitchinmommy.com/2015/02/easy-face-scrubbies-free-pattern.html

The Complete Photo Guide to Crochet 

One thought on “Crocheted Cotton Wash Cloths and Scrubbies”

I love reading your comments!

