February’s Block-A-Month

Fall Flower Corner Cluster 1 & 2 Happy Hearts
Fall Flower   Corner Cluster 1 & 2   Happy Hearts

It’s the end of February and the Daffodils and Crocuses are blooming here in the Pacific NW. We have been so lucky to have a mild winter. The rest of the country has been and still is being hammered by winter weather, not to say that we still couldn’t get it; it still is winter after all.

These are the February squares from the Ravelry Block-A-Month Crochet-A-Long, 2 12″ squares and 2 6″ squares. The 2 6″ squares are from the same pattern they are 2 variations of the Corner Cluster and I liked them both so I crocheted them. The Happy Hearts was a fun pattern to crochet, my square was coming out way smaller than it should have been according to the pattern so I had to add a round of double crochet 2 together (dc2tog) and change the stitch used on another round to a half double crochet (hdc) to get it up to 12″. I used a G/4.0mm hook instead of an H/5.0mm hook like the pattern called for, ops, o’well! I think it came out looking beautiful, so I am quite happy with it. It was a happy mistake! Last, but not least is Fall Flowers I love the way this square turned out. I used a G/4.0mm hook on this also and it was turning out too big so I had to leave out the 14th round and change the last round to a single crochet (sc) to keep it to 12″. O’ya the pattern called for an F/3.75mm hook, ya… I know…. well I think I will probably stay with a G/4.0mm hook. So far it’s a 50/50 on whether the gauge is right or not, I mean the two Corner Clusters turned out alright with a G hook!

Until next time,

Have an awesome day,

Patricia

Credits:

Fall Flowers, Corner Cluster 1&2, & Happy Hearts:  Hand Crocheted by Artisan Patricia Geraghty-Gaddis

Here is a big Thank You to the Designers

Fall Flower: Designer Aurora Suominen

Corner Cluster 1&2: Designer Lois Everett

Happy Hearts: Designer Chris Simon

2 thoughts on “February’s Block-A-Month”

  1. Oh I love your squares! They are so vibrant and perfectly even! I didnt think I could manage the 12 inch filler square but yours looks amazing! Have you started on the March squares yet? I started the bobbly flower one – so far so good.

    Like

I love reading your comments!

