January’s Block-A-Month

Pizzazz, Granny4, Prince Protea
Pizzazz           Granny 4           Prince Protea

I found out about Ravelry through a blog I had been following that had some great instructions for crochet hats and headbands, so I decided to check it out and I liked what I saw and signed up. I hadn’t been doing too much in the Ravelry community because about the same time, I had decided to start a blog about crocheting and what ever else tickled my fancy at the time. So needless to say I got side tract for a time, but it was worth it because well………..I’m here now crocheting and learning some awesome techniques. There is a community on Ravelry called the 2015 BAM CAL or (2015 Block-A-Month Crochet-A-Long). I will be crocheting 3 to 4 blocks a month for the next 12 months and I have to say so far this is a wonderful experience. The blocks generally have different authors or creators and so although the abbreviations for the instructions are pretty much the same the writing styles differ a bit so at times it can be a bit of a challenge to read them. I am finding that the gauge that crocheters use really vary quite a bit, what I mean by that is the pattern may call for an H hook size, but for me most of the time I have to go down to a G or F to get the size of the square right,  I tend to crochet a bit looser it’s more comfortable for me. Every now and again I get a surprise and the creator of the pattern also crochets in my gage……I can already tell this can be a bit tricky at times,,,,,,  I am up to the challenge though :).  If you could see me now you would see me flexing my arm muscles, getting ready ha-ha

Until next time,

Have an awesome day,

Patricia

Credits:

Pizzazz, Granny 4 & Prince Protea: Hand Crocheted by Artisan Patricia Geraghty-Gaddis

Here is a big Thank You to the Designers

Pizzazz: Designer Melinda Miller

Granny 4: Designer Woodshoppe1

Prince Protea: Designer Virginia Burrow & Dedri Uys

I love reading your comments!

